Renew Res Class Schedule

Welcome to the Renewable Resouces Class Schedule

Secondary Energy Infobook Link

Week 1 Aug 28th - Aug 30th
Wed Aug 28th - Introduction
Thurs Aug 29th - Syllabus, Rules and Paperwork
Fri Aug 30th - What is Energy Posters (Handout Secondary Energy Infobook - See Link Above Pages 8 & 9)

Week 2 Sept 2 - Sept 6
Mon Sept 2 - Labor Day - No School
Tues Sept 3 - What is Energy Poster Presentations
Wed Sept 4 - Generation of Electricity Electricity Generation Movie Generation of electricity reading
Thurs Sept 5 - Inconvenient Truth - Movie - Inconvenient Truth - worksheet and discussion
Fri Sept 6 - Inconvenient Truth - Movie - worksheet from above and discusson

Week 3 Sept 9th - Sept 13th
Mon Sept 9 - Present Day Energy Use Current Fuel Source Graphic
Tues Sept 10 - Fossil Fuels How Fossil Fuels were formed
Weds Sept 11 - Graphing
Thurs Sept 12 - Fuel Movie
Fri Sept 13 - Energy Economics, Fuel continued

Week 4 Sept 16th - Sept 20th
Mon Sept 16 - Fossil Fuel Trifolds Fossil Fuel Factsheet
Tues Sept 17 - World Energy Supplies World Energy Supplies
Wed Sept 18 - Assembly
Thurs Sept 19 - Fossil Fuels Trifolds - Finish and Turn in
Fri Sept 20 Energy/Fossil Fuel test review

Week 5 Sept 23 - Sept 27
Mon Sept 23 - Fossil Fuel/Energy Test
Tues Sept 24 - Intro to Solar Energy Intro To Solar Energy Reading Intro to Solar Energy Worksheet
Intro To Solar Video
Wed Sept 25 - Solar Energy Experiment India Solar Energy Plant Story
Thurs Sept 26 - Saved by the Sun - Movie
Fri Sept 27 - Intro to Solar Cooker Project Solar Power Article

Week 6 Sept 30 - Oct 4
Mon Sept 30 - Anatomy of a Solar Cell How Solar Photovoltaics Work Solar Cells To Electricity Video


Tuesday Oct 1 - Solar Thermal Plant Video Large Solar Plant Solar Energy Reading
Wed Oct 2 - Infinite Potential Exercise
Thurs Oct 3 - Graphing Energy
Fri Oct 4 - The Big Energy Gamble Movie - Big Energy Gamble Worksheet

Week 7 Oct 7 - Oct 11
Mon Oct 7 - Big Energy Gamble, Solar Cookers
Tues Oct 8 - Half Day - PV Cells Article/Jigsaw
Wed Oct 9 - Half Day - Solar Cooker Final Construction
Thurs Oct 10 - Half Day - Solar Cooker Testing
Fri Oct 11 - Half Day

Week 8 Oct 14 - Oct 18
Mon Oct 14 - No School - Columbus Day
Tues Oct 15 - Solar Energy review
Wed Oct 16 - PV Cell Reading
Thurs Oct 17 - PV Cell posters
Fri Oct 18 - No class pep ralley

Week 9 Oct 21 - Oct 25
Mon Oct 21 - Solar Cooker Jigsaw/Solar Energy Review
Tues Oct 22 - Solar Energy Test
Wed Oct 23 - Intro to Bioenergy/Biomass Algae as Biofuel
Thurs Oct 24 - Solar Cooker Testing
Fri Oct 25 - Bioenergy - Biofuel Article

Week 10 Oct 28 - Nov 1
Mon Oct 28 - Hydro Simulation/Notes
Tue Oct 29 - Make Up Work
Wed Oct 30 - Hydro Simulation/Notes
Thur Oct 31 - Hydro Walk - 1st Quarter Ends
Fri Nov 1 - Water turbine construction

Week 11 Nov 4 - Nov 8
Mon Nov 4 - Hydroelectricity Webquest
Tues Nov 5 - Water turbine construction cont.
Wed Nov 6 - Hydro simulation Notes/Tidal Simulation
Thurs Nov 7 - Hydro Packet Hoover Damn Video Tidal Video Tidal ngineering Video
Fri Nov 8 - Hydro /Tidal Packet

Week 12 Nov 11 - Nov 15
Mon Nov 11 - No school
Tues Nov 12 - No school conferences
Wed Nov 13 - Hydropower and Tidal Posters
Thurs Nov 14 - Tidal Video Hydropower and Tidal Review
Friday Nov 15th - Hydropower and Tidal Assessment

Week 13 Nov 18 - Nov 22
Mon Nov 18 - Geothermal Reading and Questions
Tue Nov 19 - Intro to geothermal energy Iceland Geothermal Video Geothermal Video
Wed Nov 20 - Geothermal Energy Video
Thur Nov 21 - Plate Tectonics


Fri Nov 22 - Geothermal plants

Week 14 Nov 25 - Nov 29
Mon Nov 25 - Fuel Cell Webquest
Tue Nov 26 - Fuel Cells Nova
Wed Nov 27 -
Thur Nov 28 - No School - Thanksgiving
Fri Nov 29 - No School - Thanksgiving

Week 15 Dec 2 - Dec 6
Mon Dec 2 -
Tue Dec 3 - Fuel Cell review
Wed Dec 4 - Fuel Cell assessment
Thur Dec 5 - Wind Energy Intro
Fri Dec 6 - Wind Energy webquest

Week 16 Dec 9 - Dec 13
Mon Dec 9 - Anatomy of a Wind Turbne
Tue Dec 10 -
Wed Dec 11 - Wind Farm Exercise
Thur Dec 12 - Field Trip URI Nuclear
Fri Dec 13 - Wind Farm Exercise

Week 17 Dec 16 - Dec 20
Mon Dec 16 -
Offshore wind farm video Wind Fields
Tue Dec 17 - Wind Energy Assessment
Wed Dec 18 - Intro to Nuclear Energy
Thur Dec 19 - Nuclear Energy Webquest
Fri Dec 20 - The 11th Hour - Movie

Dec 23 - Dec 27 Holiday Break - No School

Week 18 Dec 30 - Jan 3
Mon Dec 30 - Holiday Break - No School
Tue Dec 31 - Holiday Break - No School
Wed Jan 1 - Holiday Break No school
Thur Jan 2 - Fission
Fri Jan 3 - Nuclear Power Plants


Week 18 Jan 6 - Jan 10
Mon Jan 6 - Chernobyl
Tue Jan 7 - E = MC2
Wed Jan 8 - Fusion Reactors
Thur Jan 9 - Nuclear Energy Review
Fri Jan 10 - Nuclear Energy Assessment

Week 19 Jan 13 - Jan 17
Mon Jan 13 - Exam Review
Tue Jan 14 - Exam Review
Wed Jan 15 - Exams
Thur Jan 16 - Exams
Fri Jab 17 - Exams

Week 20 Jan 20 - Jan 24
Mon Jan 20 - MLK Day - No School
Tue Jan 21 - Makeup work day - Quarter/Class Ends